Is All this Parsing theory just bullshit or what?

Since I started my work on resuscitating the JavaCC project, at least a couple of people have asked me how I can do this work if I have no theoretical background in computer science, specifically all this theory behind grammars and parsers. My response has typically amounted to saying:

Watch me!

I don't know about you, dear reader, but I don't take very kindly to being told what I can do and cannot do. Granted, a man must know his limitations, but that's for me to figure out. In any case, in this specific case, I never felt like my lack of theoretical background ever posed much of a problem in doing the work I set out to do.

However, it was always in the back of my mind to fill in the various holes in my knowledge, so I would try to read some of the theoretical treatises on parsing. Typically, I'd plow through a few paragraphs and... give up. In most cases, I couldn't quite decide whether the text was elaborating some very complex, sophisticated concepts that I could not get my head around, or just saying trivial, dead-simple things using a very pretentious, impenetrable jargon.

Some of the most horrible code in the legacy JavaCC codebase existed to warn the user of "ambiguities" in the grammar. For example, if you wrote something like:

("foo")* "foo" "bar"

you would be warned that there was an ambiguity in your grammar because the one-or-more construct starts with "foo" and so does the expansion that immediately follows it.

Now, granted, there is a problem with the above construct -- like, duh, it just doesn't work! But where is the ambiguity?

The convention is greedy matching, so the initial ("foo")* in the input will consume as many "foo"'s as it possibly can. So that means that the next Token cannot possibly be a "foo"! So, the code doesn't work, but it is hardly "ambiguous"! (Is it?)